Thorium-Thorium Review

“March Of The Eastern Tribe,” the opening song on Thorium is a pure example of harmonies and build up being put to good use. “Ostrogoth,” is an absolute rocker, driving the day, built off the back of a solid riff. The vocal melodies dance around and shine through, bringing something akin to punchy metal off the bat. “Court of Blood,” is a anthem, straight off the bat, it is most definitely a live song. “Godspeed,” rocks out off the back of harmonised leads and a searing vocal performance. “Icons Fall,” is a tale of woe and sorrow, set to the ministry of metal works. A minor melodic lead coupled with some interesting twists and turns.

“Powder and Arms,” a song that dances around the scene. Built off the back of two series riffs and ensuring that the listener is hooked on melody from the get go. “All Manner of Light,”  a song that is slower in tempo but more aggressive and dark within its outlook and composition is a nice contradiction. “Return To The Clouds,” another song that plays on various elements, ensuring that the listener is kept hooked from the get go. “Four By Number, Four By Fate,” begins with the acoustic guitar dancing on the surface, ensuring the listener is intrigued. It progresses into something else. A soaring masterpiece filled with harmonies and little divergences ensuring that the listener is hooked completely.

The album is out on Empire Records on 5th October.


Thorium-Blasphemy Awakes Review

THORIUM - Blasphemy Awakes (album cover).jpg

Metal Meltdown the opening track on this album by Scandinavian Death Metal band Thorium is downright terrifying, pounding riffs and furious rhythms ensure that the listener is instantly kept within the song. Depravity is slow, morbid and gruesome, the riffs are neck breaking, the pounding of the drums ensures that no one forgets just what is happening around them. Maniac is a furious, droning and groove orientated song that has furious riffage.

Slow, Deep and Dead is slow, a mesh of furious riffs and pounding carnage that ensures that the listener is kept intrigued by what is about to come and what has passed. Trust No One is a pounding drill in the arts of superior metal, a furious riff based song that keeps the listener headbanging throughout, a song that is sure to be a hit live. Blasphemy Awakes is fast, moving, pounding and grooving. Whispers From The Grave is slow, bone-shaking and shattering, with a huge riff to support the elements.

Dead Soul is fast, grooving and a brilliant cover of the Demigod original. Reign of Osman is haunting, fierce and slowly enchanting. Tengil is a biting, sharp and furious song that combines piercing riffs with the drive and anger of the storm. Under the Black Skies is fast and furious the fantastic closer.

The album is out on 1st June via Mighty Music.